Sunday, August 24, 2014

Indomitable Lions: Samuel Eto’o Shown The Door

Yaounde, Cameroon—The head coach of the national football team of Cameroon, the indomitable lions, Volker Finke has published the list of 25 players to face the DR Congo on September 6, 2014 in their first qualifier  for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.
Samuel Eto'o has not been shortlisted by Finke
Curiously, the team captain, Samuel Eto’o Fils and twelve others who represented the four-time African champions at the 2014 world cup in Brazil are not part of the squad.
Finke published the list Friday evening shortly after a ministerial decision maintained him as head coach of the Indomitable Lions.   
The decision by the minister of sports and physical education also retained Ghanaian born Ibrahim Tanko as assistant coach while two Cameroonians; Belinga Alexandre and Bonaventure Djonkep, were appointed deputies. Former Indomitable Lions goalkeeper, Alioum Boukar, was appointed goalkeeper trainer in replacement of Jacques Songo’o.
Meanwhile, CRTV sports editor, Vincent De Paul Atangana was appointed team press officer. He replaces Raphael Nkoa.
Finke has left out 13 of 23 players who were in Brazil
By leaving out many of the players who were part of the world cup debacle in Brazil where Cameroon was ranked last amongst the 32 participating teams, Finke yields to the hopes of many Cameroonians who since the world cup have been calling for the old players to be dropped and new blood injected into the team.

See complete of players called by the head coach
Ndy Assembe (FC Nancy)
Abogo, Pierre Sylvain (Tonnerre de Yaoundé)
Ondoua, Joseph Fabrice (FC Barcelona)

Djeugou, Cédric (Coton Sport de Garoua)
Guihota, Jérôme (FC Valenciennes)
Matip, Joël (Schalke 04)
Nkoulou, Nicolas (Olympique Marseille)
Bong, Gaëtan (Olympiakos)
Bagnack, Frank (FC Barcelona)
Oyongo Bitolo, Ambroise (New York Red Bulls)

Midfield and attackers
Enow Eyong -
Mbia, Stéphane -
Loe, Raoul Cédric (C.A Osasuna)
Salli, Edgar (A.S Monaco)
Zock, Guy Christian (Cosmo de Bafia)
Mandjeck, Georges (Kayseri Erciyesspor)
Kibong A Mbamba, Marc (Konyarspor)
Choupo-Moting, Eric (Schalke 04)
Nguemo, Landry -
Moukandjo, Benjamin (Stade Reims)
Aboubakar, Vincent (FC Lorient/Porto)
Dongou, Jean Marie (FC Barcelona)
Kweuke, Léonard (Caykur Rizespor)
Njie, Clinton (Olympique Lyonnais)
Etoundi, Franck (FC Zurich)

Waiting list
Kom, Franck (Etoile Sportive du Sahel)
Mougang Mbassogo (Lion Blessé De Foutouni)
Bana Moussa (Coton Sport de Garoua)
Tabekou Ouambe (APEJES de Mfou)
Nlate Ekongolo, Brice (Olympique Marseille)
The team will begin camping at the CAF football training centre in Mbankomo, near Yaounde from September 1, 2014.
By Ndi Eugene Ndi in Yaounde

No comments:

Post a Comment