Friday, October 31, 2014

Yaounde Archdiocese: Vatican Names Mgr Jean Mbarga to Succeed Tonye Bakot

Yaounde, Cameroon—Pope Francis has named the Bishop of Ebolowa Jean  Mbarga as Archbishop of Yaoundé in Cameroon.
Mgr Jean Mbarga

The 58 years old was appointed on Friday 31st October 2014 to replace Mgr Victor Tonye Bakot who resigned as Archbishop of the Yaounde Archdiocese in July 2013.
 The Archbishop-elect has also been serving as Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Yaoundé since July last year following the resignation of his predecessor.
Archbishop-elect Jean Mbarga was born on the 18th May 1956 in the town of Ebolmedzo. He was ordained a priest for Yaoundé on 5th   Dec 1981. On 15th October 2004, St. Pope John Paul II appointed him bishop of the then Diocese of Ebolowa-Kribi. Pope Francis appointed him Apostolic Administrator of Yaoundé on the 29th July 2013.
He is the 5th Archbishop of the Yaounde Archdiocese.
By Ndi Eugene Ndi

No comments:

Post a Comment