Monday, March 30, 2015

I Have Never, Will Never Betray Biya’s Confidence In Me—Cavaye

Yaounde, Cameroon—The speaker of the National Assembly, Hon Cavaye Yeguie Djibril has vowed never to betray the CPDM national chairman, President Biya’s confidence of investing him for the post of speaker of the house for the past twenty-three (23) years.
Hon Cavaye Yeguie Djibril

“I will try to merit this confidence. Never in the past did I betray this confidence. I will never betray it,” Hon Cavaye declared at the national assembly in Yaounde last Tuesday 17 March 2015 following his reelection as speaker of the National Assembly for the 2015 legislative year.
Though Hon Cavaye was the lone candidate for the post of speaker, the CPDM Member of Parliament for Mayo-Sava in the Far North region obtained 149 of the 172 vote cast as against some 23 null votes-which most observers attribute to some opposition political party representatives of the house.
Hon Cavaye had earlier been invested for the post in a meeting of the CPDM parliamentary group of the National Assembly. They met at their party headquarters about five hours to the elective plenary.
Reacting to the election process, Hon Cavaye, in his victory speech described the abstentions as a sign of democracy. “Once more, democracy was expressed in the hemicycle”, the speaker noted. He expressed thanks to all his peers, be they does who voted in his favour or not.
Hon Cavaye congratulated the oldest member of the house and president of the provisional bureau, Hon Enow Tanjong for successfully chairing the elective plenary.
The mandate of the provisional bureau made up of the oldest member and two youngest members of the house came to an end with the election of the speaker.
Under the supervision of the speaker, the house proceeded with the election of the senior vice president. Incumbent Hon Hilarion Etong from Nanga Eboko in the Centre region retained his position, scoring the same votes like the speaker.
The five (5) Vice Presidents, four (4) Questors and twelve (12) Secretaries who were proposed on a consensus list by political parties represented in the National Assembly were elected as presented by the CPDM parliamentary group leader, Hon Jean Bernard Ndongo Essomba. They were all incumbents.
The speaker, Hon Cavaye Yeguie Djibril has been MP for over 43 years; he is now serving the 24th year as speaker of the National Assembly.
By Ndi Eugene Ndi

No comments:

Post a Comment